Server Fault's third moderator election has come to a close, the votes have been tallied, and the two new moderators are:

Michael Hampton Tom O'Connor

They'll be joining the existing crew shortly — please thank them for volunteering, and share your assistance and advice with them as they learn the ropes!

For details on how the voting played out, you can download the election results here, or view a summary report online.

Also, please voice your appreciation for hard-working veteran moderator Iain, who is stepping down after just shy of a year and a half.

  • 21
    Very tempted to close this as NARQ
    – MDMarra
    Commented May 28, 2013 at 20:55

2 Answers 2


Thank you all for your support and encouragement.

I separately received an email from Stack Exchange telling me I won the election, and in part it says: "Take it easy—there's no rush, and you don’t need to jump in and wreak havoc on your first day." So I'm looking forward to wreaking havoc tomorrow.

  • 1
    Tomorrow in EDT or UTC? :)
    – jscott
    Commented May 29, 2013 at 0:25
  • 7
    @jscott It's best practice to run on UTC, so... Commented May 29, 2013 at 2:09
  • Congrats, btw. Same for @TomO'Connor.
    – jscott
    Commented May 29, 2013 at 13:19
  • 5
    Where's my raise and tax cut? Didn't you guys promise that in your campaigns?
    – MDMarra
    Commented May 29, 2013 at 13:40
  • ^ Triple Points Thursdays, yes!
    – TheCleaner
    Commented May 29, 2013 at 20:53

I'd like to say a big 'thank you' to my almost-namesake Iain -- I've not been around here very long, but my perception of his work is that he has been a very moderate moderator, which is exactly what we need.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .