The origin https://serverfault.daytorrents.com is coming up in Google searches.

This site appears to be masquerading as serverfault.com, and is very convincing.

It has a valid HTTPS certificate and a login page.

Should I login?

  • If this is legitimate, I don't like it. Allowing this type of mirroring could lead to confusion about who to trust on the Internet. Commented Oct 7, 2019 at 15:50
  • That site seems to be down now, but still showing up in some search results... Commented Oct 10, 2019 at 17:47
  • "Should I login?" - do you feel tempted?!
    – DocRoot
    Commented Oct 12, 2019 at 23:57
  • @DocRoot: The question was rhetorical. As I understand it, sometimes people do get fooled by phishing attacks and, as I mentioned above, it's very convincing. Everything appears normal except for the domain name -- and Google is still directing me there for certain searches. There is definitely some bad stuff happening on that domain though. Commented Oct 19, 2019 at 16:39

1 Answer 1


This short of thing should be reported to the company, there's an option in the Contact Us form specifically for reporting outside sites that are improperly using SE content.

In this case, I've just used the form to report it, so you don't need to.

  • 2
    From a user perspective, this problem could be much more urgent than "Stack Exchange content is being reproduced without attribution" -- unless everyone understands this to mean that an active phishing attack is underway. Commented Oct 7, 2019 at 18:27
  • BTW: After you suggested this, I also reported with "Contact Us", and I tried to suggest greater urgency. The site was down for a while, but it's back up right now. Commented Oct 19, 2019 at 16:27

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .